Moroccan Chicken & Apricot Tagine (Paleo, AIP)

When people ask me what food I miss the most since following AIP they’re often surprised by my less than obvious answer. Yes of course I miss chocolate, I was after all a total sugar monster, and yes I miss patatas alioli and all that Spanish love but more than anything I miss spices. I desperately crave Middle-Eastern and Indian dishes. If I was given a consequence-free ticket to eat whatever I want for the day I’d take myself down to a Brick Lane curry house, a Persian or Moroccan souk restaurant and gorge until I could no longer breathe.

Naturally, I’ve gone out of my way to try to replicate these dishes in an AIP-compliant fashion. I’ve even tried making a seed-free alternative to garam masala but I haven’t quite succeeded with this yet – I’ll let you know if I do. Although, fortunately I am at the stage where I have been able to make successful reintroductions of these spices but it’s still incredibly difficult to find something AIP compliant (without dairy or tomatoes if we’re talking curry!). Anyway, this Moroccan tagine doesn’t need any of those dangerous additions and is absolutely divine! I’ve made it a few times now and most recently added a teaspoon of cumin as part of my spice reintroductions which is great if you’re ready for it but totally not necessary if it’s not time.

I hope you enjoy it just as much as I do!

raw onions

Serves 4

1 large frying pan with a lid
8 chicken thighs or 1kg of mixed thighs and drumsticks
2 red onions thinly sliced into half moons
150g dried apricots, halved
3 cloves garlic, crushed
40g ginger, finely grated
2 tbsp olive oil (it has now been proved that cooking with olive oil is safe)
2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp turmeric
Optional: 1 tsp cumin (if you’re making an AIP reintroduction)
300ml bone broth/stock
sea salt (I use himalayan pink)
Optional: black pepper (AIP reintroduction – you won’t miss anything if you cook without it).

Method

  1. Fry the onion in the olive oil for 5 minutes or until soft on a medium heat in a large frying pan (make sure it has a lid but don’t use it just yet)
  2. Add the ginger, garlic and rosemary to the onions and fry for a further 2 minutes
  3. Add the chicken thighs and brown lightly on all sides
  4. Add the spices plus salt and pepper to taste (quantity of salt will depend on how salty your broth is). Stir until all chicken is covered in spice.
  5. Pour in 300ml bone broth and bring to the boil.
  6. Put the lid on the frying pan, turn the heat down to low and cook for 15 minutes.
  7. Add in the apricots and stir through. Turn over the pieces of chicken and cook for a further 20 minutes on low.
  8. Turn the chicken occasionally until finished. You may wish to add a drop more bone broth if you would like more liquid but I haven’t done this in the photo above.

Serve with cauliflower rice and green vegetables.

This is also the perfect recipe for a white rice reintroduction if you’re ready! Be sure to let the rice soak for at least 2 hours before cooking and rinse with a few changes of water until it runs clear.

*If you find this blog helpful and you like to see more content from me, please consider a donation. The funds will help pay my tuition fees at the College of Naturopathic Medicine so that I can become a Nutritional Therapist and thus be better able to help you.*

paypal_donate_button

8 thoughts on “Moroccan Chicken & Apricot Tagine (Paleo, AIP)

  1. Hi Stella, that looks delicious! Can we also have the meatballs and “nomato” sauce with courgette spaghetti recipe please? Would love to make that.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this recipe. It is a very cold day in the Fall and I so wanted something a little spicy and warm and delicious. You have added something to my repertoire that I will make often. I served it with cauliflower rice which was perfect and soaked up the juices. Looking forward to more recipes from you!!!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your comment Robin! I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to know that 1) somebody actually made my recipe, but 2) they enjoyed it!
      I look forward to sharing more recipes with you too 🙂 I wish you well on your healing journey x

      Like

Leave a Reply

