Ginger Snap Biscuits (AIP, Paleo)

In some countries the traditional ginger snap/nut biscuit is more of a seasonal treat around Christmas time but here in the UK we love a good biscuit with a cup of tea any day of the week; ginger or otherwise! I didn’t indulge in any AIP treats over christmas, not because I was deliberately restricting myself, but purely because I am so out of the habit that I was more interested in the juicy (and way more nutritious) mango that was bulging in the fruit bowl. However, this past weekend I had a little craving for a biscuit to go with my current favourite tea – rooibos early grey, and what better way to make my own than with my beloved ingredient, ginger.

The first time I made these biscuits was last summer and I used double the ingredients which yeilded 40 cookies!!! I’m all for AIP batch cooking but that felt a little excessive. I don’t like cooking too many AIP treats because I think it encourages me to eat more of them. If I can see there are lots, I’ll eat more simply because I’m not worried about them ‘running out’ (old habits die hard!). Hand on my heart, I swear I pretty much never eat AIP treats just because I prefer fruit but they’re absolutely brilliant for anyone struggling to keep to the protocol. They’ll prevent you from reaching for non-compliant foods and from falling off the wagon! Remember, they’re treats to be consumed occasionally but do so with ABSOLUTE PLEASURE.

Recipe – 20 biscuits

65g Palm Shortening
150g Cassava Flour
25g Arrowroot Powder/Starch
2 tbsp Blackstrap Molasses
2 tbsp Maple Syrup
1/2 tsp Fresh Grated Ginger
1/2 tsp Ginger Powder
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
1 tbsp great lakes gelatin powder with 1 tbsp cold water and 1 + 1/2 tbsp hot water
5cm biscuit cutter and a rolling pin

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius
  2. Place the dry ingredients (the cassava flour, arrowroot, ginger powder, cinnamon and bicarbonate of soda) into a mixing bowl and stir together with a spoon until evenly mixed.
  3. Melt the palm shortening in a small saucepan and add the blackstrap molasses and maple syrup once the shortening has liquified. Keep stirring until the molasses and syrup has also melted and blended well with the palm shortening. You can allow it bubble a little until blended but don’t let it over-boil.
  4. Pour the maple/molasses/shortening mix into the bowl containing the flour mix. Throw in the fresh grated ginger and stir until well mixed.
  5. Put the tablespoon of gelatin powder in a jug and gently place 1 tablespoon of cold water over the top. Leave it for 5 minutes to bloom. Then add 1 + 1/2 tablespoons of hot water and whisk vigorously with a fork until the lumps are gone. (Imagine you are whisking an egg!) You can add up to another 1/2 tablespoon of water if it needs help mixing.
  6. As soon as the gelatin egg is ready (do not wait or it will go hard), pour into the biscuit mix and blend quickly with a spoon. The mixture should become sticky.
  7. If the biscuit mix looks too wet, dust in some more cassava flour.
  8. Dust the kitchen counter or tabletop with more cassava flour and scoop out the biscuit mix onto the surface. Knead the mix with your hands, allowing it to absorb some of cassava flour from the counter top and place down more flour to prevent the mixture from sticking to the surface when you roll it.
  9. Roll out the biscuit mix with a rolling pin and use a 5cm biscuit cutter. The thickness should roughly be just over half a centimetre.
  10. Place a baking sheet on a baking tray and lay out the biscuits. Bake for 12 minutes and then leave them on a cooling rack – this allows them to harden and create the ‘snap!’

 

p.s. I have successfully reintroduced white rice and I now make these with white rice flour. White rice is a stage 4 reintroduction so don’t jump into doing this right away but it’s another option for anyone who has been following AIP/Paleo for a long time and can tolerate it.

One thought on “Ginger Snap Biscuits (AIP, Paleo)

Leave a Reply

