Moroccan Roast Chicken Thighs | Whole Earth Life

Moroccan Roast Chicken Thighs (AIP, Paleo)

With carrots, swede, sweet potatoes, orange juice and sultanas!

I think I might be obsessed with chicken thighs. I laugh at people who choose the breast piece – they’re missing out on all the juice and flavour!! I first developed this obsession a few years ago through my love of indian food. So many of the recipes I followed or restaurants I ate at used thigh meat and discovering just how tender and flavourful it can be was a culinary epiphany. No turning back.

Now that I am following AIP they feature on my plate several times a week for a few reasons. I love to eat the skin because this fatty part helps me to keep my weight up and the connective tissue aids gut healing. I also love to use thighs because of the bones; sometimes I cut them out prior to cooking and other times I just save what’s left behind after eating but either way they go into the freezer and I can whip them out whenever I fancy making some chicken stock/broth.

You’ll know from this previous recipe post that I’m a big fan of spices and any kind of north african, middle eastern or indian cooking. When you combine those flavours with chicken thighs you’ve got a match made in heaven. Add a few melt in the mouth root vegetables and well… you’re salivating at the photo right? Let’s get down to business.

 

Recipe  (Serves 3-4)

6-8 chicken thighs depending on the size
6 carrots chopped
1/4 of a large swede (rutabaga) chopped into cubes
1 large onion sliced into crescent moons
2 sweet potatoes chopped in chunks (larger than your swede)
1 1/2 tbsp finely grated fresh ginger
5 cloves garlic – minced
1 tbsp fresh rosemary
1 tsp dried rosemary
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cumin (omit if you have not reintroduced)
Juice of one large orange
1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
1 medjool date finely chopped
1 tsp sea salt (I use pink himalayan)
Handful of sultanas
250ml water
Optional: pinch of saffron strands (yes it is AIP compliant)

Method – 1 hour cooking time 

  1. Preheat the oven to 220 degrees celsius or 200 if you’re using a fan oven.
  2. Fry the onions in olive oil on a medium heat until soft, then add the ginger, garlic and fresh rosemary – fry for a further 2-3 minutes.
  3. Once everything is fragrant sprinkle the cinnamon, turmeric and cumin (if using) over the onions etc. and fry for a minute until well mixed. Leave to one side.
  4. Lay the chicken thighs in a large roasting tin with the skin facing up and surround with the carrots, swede, sweet potato and medjool date until the tin is full – add more if you wish, it’s fine for them to be piled on top of one another.
  5. Spread the onion spice mix over the chicken and vegetables. Toss them around so that they’re mixed in and the chicken gets a touch of colour.
  6. Measure out 250ml of water or bone broth in a jug. Add 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar plus the juice of 1 large orange and stir together. [If you’d like to add some saffron, leave a pinch in a drop of hot water for 5 minutes and add this liquid (and strands) to your juice mix.]
  7. Pour the juice all over the chicken and vegetables, season with salt (and pepper if you can) and place in the oven for 30 minutes.
  8. After 30 minutes turn the thighs over so that they’re skin side down. Toss the vegetables around and cook for a further 15 minutes.
  9. After 15 minutes turn the chicken thighs over so that they’re skin side up, toss the vegetables again and cook for 10 minutes.
  10. Add the handful of sultanas – make sure you poke them under the liquid so that they don’t burn and cook for 5 minutes or until the chicken skin is crispy.

Serve with plenty of green vegetables.

 

18 thoughts on “Moroccan Roast Chicken Thighs (AIP, Paleo)

  1. OMG this is amazing. I NEVER follow recipes to a T, I usually tweak it a bit to do it “my way” but this one looked so perfect I didn’t mess with it and I’m very happy with the result. It is very difficult to “spice things up” (see what I did there) on AIP so I really appreciate the recipe.

    Like

  2. Hi Stella, would I cover this with the lid or leave it off. I’m making it right now lol. Can’t wait to eat it lol.
    Many thanks kerrie xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

